Dubai, 13  February 2022:  A total of 217 falcons took part in eight races in the Juniors Category of the 10th edition of Fakhr Al Ajyal (Pride of Generations) Falconry Championship, organised by the Hamdan Bin Mohammed Heritage Center (HHC) at Dubai’s Al Ruwayyah desert area over the weekend 

Demaithan bin Suwaidan, Chairman of the Fazza Championships Committee for Falconry, expressed his pride and satisfaction in the strong turnout of participants from across the UAE. He noted the ever-increasing number of participants every year.  

“We take great pride in the strong participation from the young Arabs and Emiratis who continue falconry that has been passed on from generations,” he added. 

Both male and female young falconers demonstrated their skills in falconry, including perennial winner Afra Salem Seif Al Ketbi, who has been participating in the falconry championship in the last few years. 

She won first place in one of the eight races with her bird “T2” that covered the 400-metre race in 19.995 seconds, followed by Amir Rashid Al Ketbi’s falcon “Moazem” in second place (20.204 seconds) and Hamdan Suhail Al Kindi’s “Colours” (21.210 seconds).

Afra also won first place in the next Jirnas run with her bird “202” finishing the race with a time of 20.138 seconds, followed by Rashid Hamdan Al-Kindi’ “Wahsh 2” (20.231 seconds) and Muhammad Omran Al-Nuaimi’s falcon “Dangerous” (20.259 seconds).

Hamad Rashid Al Kindi, meanwhile, grabbed top spot in the Jeer Farkh race with his bird named “Muscles” with a time of 18.285 seconds. Khaled Marwan Al-Kindi won in the main Jeer run with falcon “Wari” (18.710 seconds) and Majed Salem Majid Al Ketbi finished first in the fifth race with “Nashmi” (21.147 seconds)

Mohammed Rashid Al-Mansoori won first place in the sixth race with “Shamimi” finishing with a time of 19.255 seconds, followed by Ali Sultan Al-Mazrouei “T1” bird and Hamdan Issa Kharbash’s “Matfouk” (19.787 seconds).

Muhammad Ahmed Al-Bawardi and Mohammed Rashid Al-Mansoori won first places in the seventh and eight races respectively.